clpep new


January 12, 2018 —- During its first meeting for 2018 at the Labor Governance Learning Center, the Sugar Tripartite Council (STC) agreed to recommend to Secretary Silvestre H. Bello III the approval of the proposed budget amounting to Php 16.4M for the operations of the Social Amelioration Program (SAP).

Once approved, the Php 16.4M budget shall be used for policy review, program development, operation of the tripartite consultative mechanism, program monitoring, and technical supervision expenses of the BWSC and DOLE Regional Offices.

Also, a total amount of the Php 5.9M was endorsed for approval to support three major projects benefiting the workers in the sugar industry: 1) Implementation of College Scholarship and Technical-Vocational Trainings of the National Federation of Sugarcane Planters, Inc.; 2) Conduct of Facilitators’ Training Workshop on Education/Information Dissemination Campaign on SAP by the Unyon ng mga Manggagawa sa Agrikultura; and 3) Operationalization of the Zoilo V. Dela Cruz Development Center for Sugar Workers or Sugar Workers Development Center.

Likewise, the STC recommended the creation of the STC-Executive Committee for the Review of the DOLE Department Order No. 114-11 or the Implementing Rules and Regulations of the Republic Act No. 6982 (An Act Strengthening the Social Amelioration Program in the Sugar Industry).

By supporting the aforementioned proposals, the STC aims to further improve the management and advocacy of the SAP and more importantly, enhance the capacity of sugar workers and their families to reduce their vulnerabilities and uplift their economic condition.

In the past, the STC was formed by the power of Republic Act No. 6982 to serve as an advisory body to the DOLE for the implementation of the social and economic projects for workers in the sugar industry and helps in the prevention and settlement of labor disputes.

The current STC is composed of Roland C. Dela Cruz and John Milton M. Lozande from the field workers’ sector, Gerard R. Seno and Ronnie M. Nismal from the mill workers’ sector, Imelda S. Magabilen and Nicolas R. Kramer from the planters’ sector, and Renato P. Cabati and Atty. Jesus l. Barrera from the millers’ sector. The STC members shall serve up to 2022.



dole elearning

transparency seal

clkss footer


dlbps footer

policy issuance

cloud footer

dole feedback